A Spontaneous Reaction to Unperceived Ignorance

It is the beginning of my quest for endless discovery about the world, an explanation as to why – about how there might be a second reality to the first thing that comes to our senses when perceived.

It is always paradoxical. Singularity gives prominence to plurality; loneliness contrasts togetherness;  complete isolation and forgotten-hood brings out the sense of self and awareness of what surrounds us the most.

At the edge of the world, secluded, at the southern tip of Vancouver Island lies a Pearson College that conspired with my Utopian vision of living in a wonderland where possibilities are limitless and new paths are to be explored. I am very fortunate to have been there and have been thereof grateful for its presence in my life.

The idea of “alternation” comes naturally and is not completely unexpected.

While at Pearson, one of the things I greatly appreciate is how much diversity is respected and emphasized – in other words, as for a single individual instead of a collective of student body, how an “alternate” reality is permitted and encouraged to stand strong on its own.

That put me into this never-ending mode of self-discovery and exploration – How much of myself that I have always regarded as normal is not necessarily universal? How much I have not known about the world?

It is precisely that thought, which have been wondering for quite a long time and eventually come into form of a blog. Quite shamefully, I have not yet found time to take the action until today – but it is never too late to start and carry on. It is going to be a personal dialogue when I estrange myself and create an audience (or maybe I will have an audience, if you are seeing this) to narrate my genuine thoughts.

Alternation could be many things. It will not become a personal rambling blog – I tell myself here firmly and will keep it an oath – nor a simple recording of daily consumption that would not be missed whatsoever. Alternation is a change of mindset – to document what I have witnessed from my experience, catered to my interests in art, culture, or the creative aspect of society in general. Meanwhile, I find in the recent time, with the eyes that crave for pondering, I have discovered so much more.

Whether I am physically on a foreign land, as I am right now, or mentally bumped into intriguing matters related to aesthetics, culture, society that contemplation can take place and thoughts can be rethought – alternated is an absolute result in forms of reversion or modification – I will be here.

It is only through making meaning out of what comes to us that we find the complexity of the beauty that we previously ignored.

Light’s on.

 

 

 

Author: Victoria

只是千万人中的一个普通女子,想活的自由,活出自己的声音罢了。 I am just one in a million, not much more normal or special than anyone else, trying to live free, and speak out.

Leave a comment